Florence Carlisle


Florence Inghram was born in 1915 in Wilkinsburg, Pennsylvania. She started violin lessons at an early age and was selected for the first violin section of the National High School Orchestra. She attended the Carnegie Institute of Technology (CIT) in Pittsburgh and graduated with a degree in music education in 1938. While at CIT, she performed with a variety of student ensembles, was a member of Oscar Demmler’s “Fifth Avenue Evening Orchestra,” and was the concertmaster of the university orchestra. She also appeared on Pittsburgh radio station WWSW's "Sunday Symphony Concert."  

From 1933-1936, she became concertmaster and assistant conductor of the Women's Symphony Orchestra of Pittsburgh. She also formed the "Inghram Trio," a chamber music group composed of violin, cello, and piano, and became the first violinist in the local "NBC String Quartet." From 1945 to 1985, Florence was concertmaster of numerous civic and community orchestras in Pittsburgh, including the Pittsburgh Civic Symphony, the Allegheny County Orchestra, and the McKeesport Symphony Orchestra.  

Florence taught instrumental music in the Pittsburgh Public Schools from 1967 until her retirement in 1983. She also taught private violin, piano, and organ lessons. She died on November 24, 1992. 


About the Collection

The Florence Carlisle Collection is primarily comprised of music composed by Carlisle throughout her career. Most of the music in the collection was composed for use in churches and is available to use in performance with permission from the Carnegie Mellon University Archives. 

The physical collection, which is available in the University Archives, contains additional compositions and scrapbooks created by Carlisle.


Accessing the Collection

The Florence Carlisle Collection is available for research in the Carnegie Mellon University Archives. Contact the archives to schedule an appointment.

Finding Aid

A guide to the physical collection is available online. This guide includes information about material not included in the digital collection.


1945 - 1985


Copyright is held by Ronald Carlisle. Permission to perform works in the collection can be obtained from the Carnegie Mellon University Archives.